×
tax forms found in
Tax Form Code
Tax Form Name

Tennessee Free Printable BUS428 - Business Tax Return for 2024 Tennessee County Business Tax Return - Classification 4

Tax season is open, and returns are due on April 16th! Save by eFiling early with TurboTax start now

It appears you don't have a PDF plugin for this browser. Please use the link below to download 2023-tennessee-form-bus415-4.pdf, and you can print it directly from your computer.

County Business Tax Return - Classification 4
BUS428 - Business Tax Return

TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE RV-R00107 (12/23) Business Tax Return BUS 428 Filing Period Due Date Account Number FEIN/SSN Legal Name Amended return Remit amount on Line 7 to: Tennessee Department of Revenue Andrew Jackson State Office Building 500 Deaderick Street Nashville, Tennessee 37242 Mailing Address City State Check if applicable: ZIP Code You may file your return and payment at www.tn.gov/revenue. The business tax rates vary, depending on your classification and whether you are a retailer or a wholesaler. However, every Class 1-4 and 5B taxpayer must pay at least a minimum tax of $22 per location. Out-of-state Class 1-4 and 5B taxpayers must pay a single $22 minimum tax. Class 5A taxpayers must pay a minimum tax of $450 per location, but will not be liable for more than $1,500 per location. Round to nearest dollar 1. Total state tax (total of all locations from Schedule A, Line 6)................ (1) 2. Total city tax (total of all locations from Schedule A, Line 12)................. (2) 3. Total tax (add Lines 1 and 2)....................................................................... (3) 4. Credit memo balance................................................................................... (4) 5. Penalty (see instructions)............................................................................. (5) 6. Interest (see instructions)............................................................................ (6) 7. Total amount due (add Lines 3, 5, and 6 then subtract Line 4).............. (7) Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this report, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete. ____________________________________________________ ______________________ ___________________________________________ Taxpayer's Signature Date Title ____________________________________________________ ______________________ _________________ _________________________ Tax Preparer's Signature Preparer's PTIN Date Telephone ____________________________________________________ _____________________________ _________ _________________________ Preparer's Address City State ZIP Code Preparer's Email Address____________________________________________________________________________________________ For Office Use Only Schedule A - Tax Computation by Location Attach additional schedules as needed. Location ID...................................................................... Business tax classification (see instructions).............. Enter R for Retailer or W for Wholesaler for each location.................................................................. County for this location................................................. City (if applicable) for this location.............................. 1. Total  gross state sales (excluding sales tax)................................................................... 2. Enter  deductions from Schedule B, Line 20 less Schedule B, Line 9 (Class 4 only) or enter deductions from Schedule B, Line 20 (nonClass 4)...................................................................... 3. Taxable  gross state sales (subtract Line 2 from Line 1).................................................. 4. State tax (multiply Line 3 by the applicable rate) 5. Amount  of county personal property tax paid (cannot exceed 50% of Line 4)............................... 6. Total  state tax due (subtract Line 5 from Line 4).............................................................. 7. Total gross city sales (excluding sales tax)........... 8. Enter  deductions from Schedule B, Line 20 less Schedule B, Line 8 (Class 4 only) or enter deductions from Schedule B, Line 20 (nonClass 4)...................................................................... 9. Taxable  gross city sales (subtract Line 8 from Line 7).............................................................. 10. City tax (multiply Line 9 by the applicable rate)........................................................................... 11. Amount of city personal property tax paid (cannot exceed 50% of Line 10)............................. 12. Total city tax due (subtract Line 11 from Line 10)..................................................................... Location Location Location Location Schedule B - Deductions, Privilege and Excise Taxes by Location Attach additional schedules as needed. Location ID...................................................................... 1. Sales of services received by persons located in other states.......................................................... 2. Returned merchandise when the sales price is refunded to the customer.................................. 3. Sales of tangible personal property in interstate commerce.............................................. 4. Cash discounts allowed and taken on sales........ 5. Repossessions......................................................... 6. Amount allowed as trade-in value for any articles sold.............................................................. 7. Bad debts written off during the reporting period....................................................................... 8. County amounts paid by a contractor to a subcontractor (must complete Schedule C) (see instructions)..................................................... 9. City amounts paid by a contractor to a subcontractor (must complete Schedule C) (see instructions)..................................................... 10. Federal and Tennessee gasoline tax..................... 11. Federal and Tennessee motor fuel tax................. 12. Federal and Tennessee tobacco tax on cigarettes.................................................................. 13. Federal and Tennessee tobacco tax on all other tobacco products.......................................... 14. Federal and Tennessee beer tax........................... 15. Tennessee special tax on petroleum products................................................................... 16. Tennessee liquified gas tax for certain motor vehicles..................................................................... 17. Tennessee beer wholesale tax.............................. 18. Tennessee bail bonds tax....................................... 19. Other deductions not taken elsewhere on the return........................................................................ a. Specify (see instructions)........................................ 20. Total deductions (add Lines 1 through 19).......... Location Location Location Location Taxable Year Taxpayer Name Account No./FEIN/SSN Location ID Schedule C - Payment to Subcontractor Worksheet Attach additional schedules as needed per location. See instructions for claiming this deduction. Subcontractor Name Contractor License Number Address Business License Number City State ZIP Code Description of business activities provided Issued By (County or City) Date Paid Amount Paid Subcontractor Name Contractor License Number Address Business License Number City State ZIP Code Description of business activities provided Issued By (County or City) Date Paid Amount Paid Subcontractor Name Contractor License Number Address Business License Number City State ZIP Code Description of business activities provided Issued By (County or City) Date Paid Amount Paid Subcontractor Name Contractor License Number Address Business License Number City State ZIP Code Description of business activities provided Issued By (County or City) Date Paid Amount Paid Subcontractor Name Contractor License Number Address Business License Number City Description of business activities provided State ZIP Code Issued By (County or City) Date Paid Amount Paid Instructions: Business Tax General Information Filing: Every person subject to Tennessee business tax should file only one business tax return per filing period which includes all business tax due. Due Dates: Your business tax return is due on the 15th day of the fourth month following the end of your fiscal year. For example, if your fiscal year coincides with the calendar year, then your return will be due on April 15th. Tax Rates: The business tax rates vary, depending on your classification and whether you are a retailer or a wholesaler. However, every Class 1-4 and 5B taxpayer must pay at least a minimum tax of $22 per location. Out-ofstate Class 1-4 and 5B taxpayers must pay a single $22 minimum tax. Class 5A taxpayers must pay a minimum tax of $450 per location, but will not be liable for more than $1,500 per location. Classification Retailer Rates Wholesaler Rates General Rate Class 1A 0.001 0.00025 Class 1B and 1C 0.001 0.000375 Class 1D 0.0005 Not applicable Class 1E Not applicable 0.0003125 Class 2 0.0015 0.000375 Class 3 0.001875 0.000375 Class 4 Not applicable Not applicable 0.001 Class 5A Not applicable Not applicable 0.001 Class 5B Not applicable Not applicable 0.0002 Classifications Each taxpayer is classified by its dominant business activity (the activity that produces its largest portion of taxable sales) on a per location basis. Every classification has its own tax rate, so your classification determines the tax rate you must apply to all of your taxable sales at that location. You must choose only one classification per location. See www.tn.gov/revenue for more information on classifications. Retailer vs. Wholesaler Your tax rate is also affected by whether you are a retailer or a wholesaler at a given location. Most classifications include both a retailer rate and a wholesaler rate. Once you determine whether you are a retailer or a wholesaler at a particular location, you will apply that rate to all of your taxable gross sales at that location. You are a retailer if at least 50% of your taxable gross sales are retail sales. You are a wholesaler if more than 50% of your taxable gross sales are wholesale sales. A wholesale sale may include, but is not limited to: • a sale to a retailer for resale, • a sale of industrial materials that become a component part of a product that is for resale, or • a sale of goods to the government or a governmental agency or to a nonprofit. A retail sale is anything that is not a wholesale sale. Exempt Services Receipts derived from the sale of some services are exempt. The categories of exempt services can be found at Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-708(3)(C). Note, however, that if you also sell tangible personal property or taxable services, you must file and pay business tax on your taxable receipts based on the dominant taxable business activity. Return Line 1: Enter the total state tax due for every location entered on Schedule A, Line 6. Line 2: Enter the total city tax due for every location entered on Schedule A, Line 12. Line 3: Add Lines 1 and 2. Line 4: If your account has a credit balance from an overpayment on a prior return, enter the amount on this line. Line 5: Penalty is calculated at a rate of 5% for each 30-day period, or portion thereof, that a return is delinquent, up to a maximum of 25% of the delinquent amount. The minimum penalty is $15 for the delinquent filing of a return. If your return is delinquent, apply the appropriate penalty rate to the total tax due from Line 3. Line 6: Interest is due on any amount of tax that is paid after the statutory due date of the return. The interest rate is determined in accordance with Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-1-801. The current interest rate can be found at www.tn.gov/revenue by clicking the Tax Resources tab. If the payment is late, apply the interest rate to the total tax due from Line. Line 7: Add Lines 3, 5, and 6, and subtract Line 4 for the total amount of tax due. Schedule A - Tax Computation by Location You must provide the information in this Schedule for every location in this state. If you have an out-of-state location ID, you should enter all information in a separate column for that location ID. If you have more than four location IDs, please attach additional Schedules A and B. Enter the location ID and classification for each of your locations in the state. A Class 4 contractor must separately list its domicile location or out-of-state location, as well as any locations in which it receives more than $100,000 in contracts during the business tax reporting period (deemed locations). Also enter your out-of-state location ID and classification, if applicable. If the return is a final return for any of the listed locations, you will need to close out those locations in your TNTAP account. A Class 4 contractor will need to close out any deemed locations, unless the contract for a deemed locations extends into the next reporting period and the contractor is sure that it will receive more than $100,000 in receipts the next reporting period. Indicate whether you qualify as a retailer or wholesaler for each location. If the location is a Class 4, 5A, or 5B, leave these lines empty. Enter the city (if applicable) and county for each in-state location ID. These lines will be left blank for out-of-state location IDs. Line 1: Enter the total state gross sales and gross income that are subject to business tax. Do not include in this amount sales tax and liquor-by-the-drink tax collected, commissions from lottery ticket sales, or exempt sales. Line 2: Class 4 contractors should enter the total amount of deductions entered on Schedule B, Line 20 less the amount on Schedule B, Line 9 for the location. All other taxpayers should enter the total amount of deductions entered on Schedule B, Line 20. Line 3: Subtract Line 2 from Line 1 and enter here. Line 4: To determine the state tax, multiply Line 3 by the applicable rate from the rate table on page 1 of these instructions. Line 5: Enter the amount of county personal property tax actually paid on property located at the specific location. The amount entered on this line cannot exceed 50% of Line 4. The tax must be paid prior to or during the reporting period of this return. This amount cannot include real property taxes. Enter zero if no personal property tax was paid for the location or if the location is out-of-state. Line 6: Subtract Line 5 from Line 4. For Class 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5B locations, if the amount is less than $22, enter $22 on this line. For Class 5A locations, if the amount is less than $450, enter $450 on this line, and if the amount is more than $1,500, enter $1,500 on this line. Line 7: Enter the total gross sales and gross income that are subject to the city business tax. Do not include in this amount sales tax and liquor-by-the-drink tax collected, commissions from lottery ticket sales, or exempt sales. Unless you are a Class 4 contractor, this amount should be the same as the amount entered on Line 1. Line 8: Class 4 contractors should enter the total amount of deductions entered on Schedule B, Line 20 less the amount on Schedule B, Line 8 for the location. All other taxpayers should enter the total amount of deductions entered on Schedule B, Line 20. Line 9: Subtract Line 8 from Line 7 and enter here. Unless you are a Class 4 contractor, this amount should be the same as the amount entered on Line 3. Line 10: To determine the city tax, multiply Line 9 by the applicable rate from the rate table on page 1 of these instructions. If the location is out-of-state or is not in an incorporated municipality, or if the municipality has not enacted the city business tax, enter zero. Line 11: Enter the amount of city personal property tax actually paid for the location, up to 50% of Line 10. Enter zero if no personal property tax was paid for the location. If the location is out-of-state or is not in an incorporated municipality, or if the municipality has not enacted the city business tax, enter zero. Line 12: Subtract Line 11 from Line 10. For Class 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5B locations, if the amount is less than $22, enter $22 on this line. For Class 5A locations, if the amount is less than $450, enter $450 on this line, and if the amount is more than $1,500, enter $1,500 on this line. Schedule B - Deductions, Privilege and Excise Taxes by Location You must provide the information in this Schedule for every location in this state. If you have an out-of-state location ID, you should enter all information in a separate column for that location ID. If you have more than three location IDs, please attach additional Schedules A and B. Line 1: Enter all sales of services that are delivered to locations outside of Tennessee. Line 2: Enter the amount of returned goods, wares, or merchandise for which the sales price was refunded, either in cash or credit, to the purchaser. This amount should equal the amount reported on the Tennessee Sales and Use Tax Return, Schedule A, Line 5, for the business tax reporting period. Line 3: Enter all sales of tangible personal property that were delivered, either by the taxpayer or by common carrier, where the purchaser took possession of the property outside of Tennessee for use or consumption outside of Tennessee. Line 4: Enter the amount of cash discounts allowed and taken on sales made during the taxpayer’s business tax reporting period. Line 5: Enter the portion of the unpaid principal balance in excess of $500 due on all items of tangible personal property repossessed from customers during the taxpayer’s business tax reporting period. This amount should equal the amount reported on the Tennessee Sales and Use Tax Return, Schedule A, Line 8, for the business tax reporting period. Line 6: Enter the total amount allowed as trade-in value for any articles sold during the taxpayer’s business tax reporting period. Line 7: Enter the total amount of bad debts written off during the business tax reporting period and eligible to be deducted for federal income tax purposes. Line 8: Enter the total amount paid in the county by a Class 4 contractor to a subcontractor(s) holding either a business license or a contractor’s license for performing activities described in Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4708(4)(A). To receive the deduction, Class 4 contractors must complete a Schedule C for each location for which they are claiming the deduction. Line 9: Enter the total amount paid in the city by a Class 4 contractor to a subcontractor(s) holding either a business license or a contractor’s license for performing activities described in Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4708(4)(A). To receive the deduction, Class 4 contractors must complete a Schedule C for each location for which they are claiming the deduction. Line 10: Enter the amount of all federal and Tennessee privilege and excise taxes paid on gasoline sold by the taxpayer. Line 11: Enter the amount of all federal and Tennessee privilege and excise taxes paid on motor fuel sold by the taxpayer. Line 12: Enter the amount of all federal and Tennessee privilege and excise taxes paid on cigarettes sold by the taxpayer. Line 13: Enter the amount of all federal and Tennessee privilege and excise taxes paid on all other tobacco products sold by the taxpayer. Line 14: Enter the amount of all federal and Tennessee privilege and excise taxes paid on beer sold by the taxpayer. Line 15: Enter the amount of Tennessee special tax paid on petroleum products sold by the taxpayer. Line 16: Enter the amount of Tennessee liquified gas tax paid on liquified gas for motor vehicles sold by the taxpayer. Line 17: Enter the amount of Tennessee beer wholesale tax paid on beer sold by the taxpayer. Line 18: Enter the amount of Tennessee bail bonds tax paid. Line 19: Enter any other deductions from business tax for the business tax reporting period. Specify which deductions are taken by using the letters listed below. Note that these deductions may be taken only if included in Schedule A, Line 1. Other deductions include: a) accommodation sales (sale for resale of tangible personal property at cost plus freight, storage, and transportation costs by a person who regularly sells such property to another person who regularly sells such property) b) casual and isolated sales of tangible personal property c) sales of school supplies and meals to students and school employees on campus by secondary or elementary schools (but not such sales made by independent contractors) Line 20: Calculate the total deductions by adding Lines 1 through 19. Schedule C - Payment to Subcontractor Worksheet Only Class 4 contractors that actually paid amounts during the business tax year to a subcontractor holding a business license or contractor’s license issued by the board for licensing contractors for performing contracting activities should complete this schedule. Examples of such activities include rendering extermination services, installing personal property, constructing, building, erecting, repairing, grading, excavating, drilling, exploring, testing, or adding to any building, highway, street, sidewalk, bridge, culvert, sewer, irrigation or water system, drainage or dredging system, levee or levee system or any part thereof, railway, reservoir, dam, power plant, electrical system, air conditioning system, heating system, transmission line, pipeline, tower, dock, storage tank, wharf, excavation, grading, water well, or any other improvement or structure or any part thereof. You must complete a Schedule C for each location ID for which you are claiming the subcontractor deduction on Schedule B, Line 8. If you paid more than five subcontractors for a particular location during the business tax reporting period, please attach additional schedules. You must maintain in your records a copy of the subcontractor’s business license or contractor’s license. Fill in all applicable information for each subcontractor. Enter either the contractor license number or the business license number (both are not required). Enter the total amount paid to the subcontractor for that location during the entire reporting period. If you paid the subcontractor multiple times during the reporting period, enter the final date of payment in the “date paid” box.
Extracted from PDF file 2023-tennessee-form-bus415-4.pdf, last modified December 2023

More about the Tennessee Form BUS415-4 Corporate Income Tax TY 2023

County Business Tax Return - Classification 4

We last updated the County Business Tax Return - Classification 4 in February 2024, so this is the latest version of Form BUS415-4, fully updated for tax year 2023. You can download or print current or past-year PDFs of Form BUS415-4 directly from TaxFormFinder. You can print other Tennessee tax forms here.


eFile your Tennessee tax return now

eFiling is easier, faster, and safer than filling out paper tax forms. File your Tennessee and Federal tax returns online with TurboTax in minutes. FREE for simple returns, with discounts available for TaxFormFinder users!

File Now with TurboTax

Other Tennessee Corporate Income Tax Forms:

TaxFormFinder has an additional 65 Tennessee income tax forms that you may need, plus all federal income tax forms.

Form Code Form Name
Form BUS415-3 County Business Tax Return - Classification 3
Form FAE-170 Franchise and Excise Tax Return Kit
Form BUS416-4 Municipal Business Tax Return - Classification 4
Form FAE-173 Application for Extension of Time to File
FAE-Schd-174SC Consolidated Apportionment Schedules

Download all TN tax forms View all 66 Tennessee Income Tax Forms


Form Sources:

Tennessee usually releases forms for the current tax year between January and April. We last updated Tennessee Form BUS415-4 from the Department of Revenue in February 2024.

Show Sources >

About the Corporate Income Tax

The IRS and most states require corporations to file an income tax return, with the exact filing requirements depending on the type of company.

Sole proprietorships or disregarded entities like LLCs are filed on Schedule C (or the state equivalent) of the owner's personal income tax return, flow-through entities like S Corporations or Partnerships are generally required to file an informational return equivilent to the IRS Form 1120S or Form 1065, and full corporations must file the equivalent of federal Form 1120 (and, unlike flow-through corporations, are often subject to a corporate tax liability).

Additional forms are available for a wide variety of specific entities and transactions including fiduciaries, nonprofits, and companies involved in other specific types of business.

Historical Past-Year Versions of Tennessee Form BUS415-4

We have a total of eleven past-year versions of Form BUS415-4 in the TaxFormFinder archives, including for the previous tax year. Download past year versions of this tax form as PDFs here:


2023 Form BUS415-4

BUS428 - Business Tax Return

2022 Form BUS415-4

County Business Tax Return Classification 4 BUS415

2021 Form BUS415-4

County Business Tax Return Classification 4 BUS415

2020 Form BUS415-4

County Business Tax Return Classification 4 BUS415

2019 Form BUS415-4

County Business Tax Return Classification 4 BUS415

2018 Form BUS415-4

County Business Tax Return Classification 4 BUS415

2017 Form BUS415-4

bus415coclass4

2016 Form BUS415-4

County Business Tax Return Classification 4 BUS415

2015 Form BUS415-4

County Business Tax Return Classification 4 BUS415

County Business Tax Return Classification 4 2012 Form BUS415-4

County Business Tax Return Classification 4

County Business Tax Return Classification 4 2011 Form BUS415-4

County Business Tax Return Classification 4


TaxFormFinder Disclaimer:

While we do our best to keep our list of Tennessee Income Tax Forms up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the form on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.

** This Document Provided By TaxFormFinder.org **
Source: http://www.taxformfinder.org/tennessee/form-bus415-4